Oaklawn Event Info

Mulerider Day at the Races

Saturday, February 8, 2020

We are so excited to see you this Saturday, February 8, at Mulerider Alumni Day at the Races! Our event will be held in Oaklawn’s private event room, the Arkansas Room. Lunch starts at 11 a.m. and races begin at 1:00 p.m. The Winner’s Circle Buffet will feature a deluxe carving station, various entrees, sides, and desserts. Our private room will also feature a cash bar & betting window for our group. 

Please see additional details below. 


Casual/Business Casual attire recommended. No club attire is necessary, but welcomed. We encourage all attendees to help us pack Oaklawn with Mulerider Blue & Gold!


On race days, parking in north, south and west lots is only $2. Parking after 4 p.m. is free. Oaklawn staff has also encouraged us to park in the north lot or across the street from the west lot at Rocky’s Corner or Frontier Club. There are additional private lots nearby, but much pricier than $2. They have handicapped parking in their main lot, south of the building and adjacent to the main gaming entrance.  They also offer around-the-clock shuttle service. There is no overnight parking for RVs. Please allow 10-15 minutes for parking, as Oaklawn Park is under construction. 

Event Entry & the Arkansas Room

Directions to the Arkansas Room:  When you arrive at the North Gate of Oaklawn, go through the entrance doors on your left. Proceed up the escalator, then turn left. Continue to the stairs (on your left) and follow them to the escalator. When you reach the top of the escalator, follow the hallway to the left. You will see the entrance to the Oaklawn Club. Please do not enter through the Club doors. Continue to the rights where you will see the Arkansas Room sign. Look for the Mulerider registration table, set up near the double wooden doors. If you have any trouble finding the Arkansas Room, just ask someone in a red coat. 🙂 

Event registration fees cover your door charge, program, private buffet, and seating. Our staff will have a registration table with our guest list & name tags. You will also get a red sticker and your program at the registration table. Please place the red sticker near your name tag to access the Arkansas Room. 


During the races, attendees have the following options: 

  • Reserved Grandstand Seating (tickets provided during the event). 

  • 10-15 attendees may circulate through our private box. 

  • Races will be shown on the televisions in the Arkansas Room.

  • Attendees are welcome to visit other general admission areas of Oaklawn and the paddock area. 

Private Betting Window

Mutuel teller will be present in the Arkansas Room at all times. Additional windows will be available outside the room. 

Mulerider Alumni Classic - Trophy Race

The SAU Alumni Association is proud to sponsor a trophy race, the “Mulerider Alumni Classic.” 

With races beginning at 1:00 p.m., we estimate that our trophy race will begin at 3:30 p.m. Ten lucky alumni will represent our group by presenting the trophy. Winners will be drawn during lunch. 


If you have any questions, please contact Megan McCurdy, Director of Alumni Relations.


Fellow Muleriders Attending

*This webpage is only shared with registered event attendees.

Tammy Alexander ’88

Joe Baker ’77 & Brenda Baker

Glenda Beard ’84

Haley Bell ’13

Anthony Bennett ’67 & Linda Bennett ’68

Dwight Bowlin ’73 & LariAnne Bowlin 

Vicki Butler 

Cathy Cameron ’72

Anita Cameron ’75 & ’77

Ken Carroll ’77 & Joan Carroll ’80

Gabriela Coburn ’17 & Andrew Coburn ’17

Sharon Colvin & Mike Colvin 

Mason Cozart ’83 & Robin Cozart 

Sue Evers Guthrie ’75 & Tom Guthrie 

Stormi Harvey ’18 & Jacob Wright 

Dick Henry ’73 & ’76 and Pam Henry 

Karlene Hooker ’78

Tammy Gardner James ’86 & Mike James 

Sandy Kapales ’86

Josh Kee ’03 & Bekah Kee ’05

Nikki Kitchens Moore ’06

Kathy Kumpe ’74 & Philip Kumpe ’74

Denise Duke Ludlow ’89

Jackson McCurdy ’15 & Megan McCurdy ’14

Janie Cagle McLane ’78

Tina Moore ’05 & Robert Moore 

Justin Morris ’07 & Amy Morris

Deborah Nipper ’75 & Steve Nipper 

Margatira Norment ’14 & ’16 & Bailey Camacho 

Ronnie Ribble ’58 & Sara Roberson 

Tinka Rogers ’77, John Rogers ’77, & Chrisanna Rogers

Hilton Stewart ’62 & Linda Stewart 

Bobby Thompson ’86

Stephanie Thompson ’97

Chase VanDeest ’17 & Audrey Smith 

Evelyn Wainwright ’76

Bitsie Beeler Welch ’69 & Randy Welch 

Ken White ’82 & Pam White  

Mike White ’78 & Debbie Dodson White ’77

Erica Jackson Woods ’93 & Mark Woods 

Ralph Wray ’90 & Candy Wray

SAU Event Staff

Dr. Trey Berry

Josh Kee ’03 

Megan McCurdy ’14, ’17

Jackson McCurdy ’15, ’17

Haley Bell ’13 

Sharon Colvin 

We are counting down to seeing you Saturday!


Update your Information

All SAU alumni can receive The Stater (a magazine for SAU Alumni & Friends) twice a year! Update your information now to receive our next printed edition.
Update Information Form

Recent Alumni News

  • Class News

    Geneva Scoggin ’55 recently moved to Farmersville, Texas. She is proud of her children and grandchildren and enjoys being active in their lives. After graduating from SSC, she continued her […]

  • In Memory of

    1930-1939 Maureen Harris ’37 December 4, 2019 Annie Dean McGuire Rodgers ’39 April 28, 2020 1940-1949 Ellen Minor ’42 January 8, 2020 Billie Locke Culver ’43 March 21, 2020 Richard Hampton […]

  • Investing in People: Ron Harrell rides in for a visit

    Ron Harrell’s Mulerider memories are neatly represented by a tool from his days as an Engineering student at Southern State College – a slide rule. “This was the primary mathematical tool that […]

  • Class News

    1930-1939 Mildred (Greer) Ruff ’36 celebrated her 101-year birthday on November 17, 2017. While attending Magnolia A&M, Mildred was a cheerleader for the Aggies. 1960-1969 Wanda Maureen […]